The Power of Community Arts to Inspire Climate Action

April 2, 2021 by ICASC Environmental Action, Events /

 

What can community-engaged arts do to power up inspiration, hope, and activism? Join us on this webinar, April 28, to find out!

As part of our FUTURES/forward community-engaged art mentorship program, the International Centre of Art for Social Change (ICASC) recently collaborated with Climate Action Network Canada (CAN-Rac), Ecology Action Centre (EAC) and the Conservation Council of New Brunswick (CCNB) to bring environmentalists and artists together in an inspiring process of collective creation.

Join our webinar to learn how art can power up climate action! Hear about our emotional journey, meet the artists and project partners, and experience some of the music, visual arts and stories that emerged.

This one-hour webinar will feature four 10-minute conversations between project partners and artist participants, as well as an overview of the program. FUTURES/forward’s Judith Marcuse and Laura Barron will talk about how the program works. Louise Comeau (CCNB), Danielle Smith (From Harm to Harmony participant), Teika Newton (CAN-Rac), Tanya Kalmanovitch (FUTURES/forward artist-in-residence at CAN-Rac), Joanna Bull (EAC), Yasmine Hassen (“Art for Social Change: Weaving Together Just Livelihoods”, FUTURES/forward artist-in-residence at EAC) will share stories and revelations about the benefits of bringing community-engaged art making to our environmental work. There will be time for questions and answers.

When: Wednesday, April 28, 12 pm PDT & MST/ 1 pm MDT & CST/ 2pm CDT/ 3 pm EDT/ 4 pm ADT/ 4:30 pm NDT
Where: Zoom

Register for the webinar here (you will receive an email with the Zoom invitation closer to the date of the event): https://www.conservationcouncil.ca/webinar-the-power-of-art-to-inspire-climate-action/


ICASC NEWSLETTER

News, articles, events and more in your inbox twice a year!

Newsletter archive

DONATE TO ICASC

However you support ICASC, you will be helping to create social change! Become a Friend of ICASC with an annual donation of at least $15. Official receipts for tax purposes are provided promptly.